Buy + Add To Wish List + $15.29 ($16.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Composer Dalia Raudonikyte With focuses on exploring nuances within the phenomenon of sound, approaching it from a variety of multi-disciplinary angles including the visual arts, literature, philosophy, computer programming and ethnography. Her music often creates implicit links to apssages from great literature by including literary quotes in her scores that encode the performer's perception and interpretation withe xtra-musical reference points. In her solo clarinet work, Solitarius, we hear whispered fragments of text occasionally woven into the fabric of the performance itself, a window into the unspoken literary source that informs its interpretation. The work unfolds otherwise as a thoughtful soliloquy, a rhetorical dialogue with different sides of oneself. Ventus is timbrally more exploratory, as fluttering extended techniques in the saxophone merge with unstable sounds in the electronics. The chamber orchestra piece Grues et nix revels in dense sound masses and long, sustained lines, creating crestling waves of evocative and expressive harmony. FCH, an homage to Frederic Chopin, begins with an exploration of sparse lyricism before evoking its dedicatee through pianistic passagework. The solo guitar work Primo cum lumine solis also remains within a conventional harmonic frame for the mos tpart, melding the free, rhetorical dialogue of Solitarius with modeal treatment. The final section of the piece breaks away from the prevailing lyricism with some angular passagework before the final cadence brings back the expansive character of the opening section. The final work on the program, Idem non semper idem, returns to the fragility of the extended techniques of teh solo saxophone, with unearthly multiphonics serving as architectural pillars for this strange and tactile sonic language. Dalia R. With's expressive palette is driven by an internal muse. At her disposal is a strong command over experimental instrumental technique as well as a penchant for beautiful expressive melancholy. Connecting the diverse expressive worlds she inhabits is a solemn, lyrical quality tha tpierces through varied textures.
Item number FCR186
Barcode 747565635154
Release date 7/7/2017
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Classical Composer With, Dalia Raudonikyte
Disc: 1
1 Solitarius 00:05:56 Rubin, Joshua
2 Ventus 00:12:52 Nystrøm, Rolf-Erik With, Dalia Raudonikyte
Grues et nix00:12:00
3 Grues et nix 00:12:16 Katkus, Donatas The Vilnius City Municipality St. Christopher Cham
4 FCH 00:03:32 Cepliauskaite, Šviese
Primo cum lumine solis00:04:00
5 Primo cum lumine solis 00:03:30 Lippel, Daniel
Idem non semper idem00:08:00
6 Idem non semper idem 00:08:04 Nystrøm, Rolf-Erik
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Solitarius, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
Corpo di Terra
$15.29 ($16.99)
Baker: Stress Position
$15.29 ($16.99)
Schumann: Humoreske - Busoni: Fantasia contrappuntistica
$15.29 ($16.99)
The Bold Arch of Undreamt Bridges FCR106 1/1/2011 $15.29 ($16.99)
Few in stock Buy +
The Calls of Gravity FCR114 12/4/2010 $15.29 ($16.99)
Solitary FCR110 2/15/2010 $15.29 ($16.99)
Auricolae: Fairy Tales, Folklore & Fables FCR108 12/14/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Sustenance FCR103 5/1/2007 $15.29 ($16.99)
Bach: BWV 998, 1003, 1010 FCR102 11/1/2005 $15.29 ($16.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items