Stanford: Complete Music for Solo Piano, Vol. 3

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Musically-aware Dubliners in the early 1860s might have already predicted a musical career forStanford. We may wonder, however, whether they would have foreseen a pianist or a composer. While not yet ten he presented a tasteful if hardly virtuosic programme of Beethoven, Handel, Mendelssohn, Moscheles, Mozart and Bach. A longer and more demanding programme about two years later drew the comment: “… Master Charles V. Stanford …is doubtless destined for a great position in the musical world … a listener alone of whatever experience, not knowing of the youth, or seeing the performer would suppose an artist at the instrument who had passed through years of mature study; neatness and precision, elastic touch, expression and finish seem to have been bestowed by nature in this case, for Master Stanford plays with his head as well as with his hands”. Sheva Collection release the first in a series of Stanford’s solo piano music, with many of the works appearing for the first time.
Item number SH160
Barcode 8033776711605
Release date 6/16/2017
Category Classical Music
Number of units 2
Classical Artist Howell, Christopher
Disc: 1
6 Concert Pieces in Op. 4200:00:00
1 No. 4. Intermezzo 00:04:47 Howell, Christopher
2 No. 5. Toccata 00:04:09 Howell, Christopher
Night Thoughts, Op. 14800:34:00
3 I. Nocturne 00:06:50 Howell, Christopher
4 II. Ballade 00:06:52 Howell, Christopher
5 III. Scherzo marziale 00:04:18 Howell, Christopher
6 IV. A Soliloquy 00:04:58 Howell, Christopher
7 V. Mazurka 00:04:03 Howell, Christopher
8 VI. A Lament 00:07:16 Howell, Christopher
Ballade, Op. 17000:08:00
9 Ballade, Op. 170 00:07:59 Howell, Christopher
2 Fugues, Op. 19300:05:00
10 No. 1. in C Minor 00:02:00 Howell, Christopher
11 No. 2. in B Minor 00:02:50 Howell, Christopher
4 Irish Dances, Op. 8900:07:00
12 No. 1. Allegro, "March-Jig" 00:04:13 Howell, Christopher
13 No. 2. Allegro Moderato, "Slow Dance" 00:04:18 Howell, Christopher
14 No. 3. Allegretto, "The Leprechaun's Dance" 00:02:57 Howell, Christopher
15 No. 4. Allegro molto vivace, "Reel" 00:04:28 Howell, Christopher
Disc: 2
Scènes de ballet, Op. 15000:24:00
1 I. Tempo di Polka 00:03:13 Howell, Christopher
2 II. Pas de Deux 00:03:28 Howell, Christopher
3 III. Valse Cromatique 00:02:53 Howell, Christopher
4 IV. Pas de Fascination 00:03:13 Howell, Christopher
5 V. Mazurka 00:04:04 Howell, Christopher
6 VI. Tourbillon 00:02:49 Howell, Christopher
7 March 00:01:48 Howell, Christopher
Romance, "Une fleur de mai"00:04:00
8 Romance, "Une fleur de mai" 00:04:20 Howell, Christopher
3 Nocturnes, Op. 18400:15:00
9 No. 2. in B-Flat Major 00:07:01 Howell, Christopher
10 No. 3. in F Major 00:07:47 Howell, Christopher
Toccata in C Major00:05:00
11 Toccata in C Major 00:04:35 Howell, Christopher
3 Rhapsodies from Dante, Op. 9200:27:00
12 No. 1. Francesca 00:11:05 Howell, Christopher
13 No. 2. Beatrice 00:08:07 Howell, Christopher
14 No. 3. Capaneo 00:06:48 Howell, Christopher
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Stanford: Complete Music for Solo Piano, Vol. 3, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Unending Love: A Sound Poem
Stanford: Complete Works for Violin & Piano
Chopin & Scriabin: Piano Music
Messiaen: La Nativité du Seigneur & Offrande au Saint-Sacrement SH163 6/16/2017 $18.99
Stanford: Complete Works for Piano Solo, Vol. 1 SH115 6/2/2017 $21.99
Stanford: Complete Works for Piano Solo, Vol. 2 SH125 6/2/2017 $21.99
Peter Seabourne: Steps, Vol. 2 "Studies of Invention" SH065 4/21/2017 $18.99
Peter Seabourne: Steps, Vol. 3 "Arabesques" SH088 4/21/2017 $18.99
Contemporary Romantic Concertos for String Orchestra SH091 4/21/2017 $18.99
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items