Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring - Sibelius: Symphony No. 5

Buy + Add To Wish List + $22.49 ($24.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
The ICA Classics Legacy series presents a collection of historical performances by some of the world’s greatest artists. These performances are released on DVD for the first time, incorporating rare archive footage that has been expertly and lovingly restored.
‘Luckily for all of us, it wasn’t enough
for Leonard Bernstein to compose
music and conduct orchestras. He
felt equally compelled to talk about
music – to try and explain what made
it tick, what made it good, and what
made it affect us in all the ways that
music does. The other piece of good
luck was that Leonard Bernstein and
television came along at the same
time. They were born for each other.’
(Jamie Bernstein), The films on this DVD are taken from the
‘Symphonic Twilight’ series of TV programmes
made in the mid-Sixties that were the brainchild
of Humphrey Burton, then the newly appointed
Head of Music and Arts Programmes for the BBC.
In his booklet notes for this DVD, Burton reveals
himself to have been instrumental in bringing
Bernstein the conductor to the wider British
public, who knew him foremost as the composer
of West Side Story. In 1965 Burton persuaded
Bernstein to conduct the LSO at the Royal Albert
Hall and the resulting Mahler 8 was a spectacular
occasion, broadcast to the nation.
The following year, they put together these
programmes, filmed specifically for the new
television audience. The works Bernstein chose
to record are twentieth-century orchestral
masterpieces, for which he is known to be
a champion. His recordings of Sibelius’s
Fifth Symphony for CBS Records and Deutsche
Grammophon were acclaimed by critics
worldwide, and his interpretation of The Rite
of Spring in 1959 elicited an enthusiastic
‘Wow!’ from Stravinsky himself! They are
accompanied on this DVD by an in-depth
interview, given here as a bonus and subtitled
in French and German.
Item number ICAD 5082
Barcode 5060244550827
Release date 9/25/2012
Category Classical Music
Media type DVD VIDEO
Number of units 1
Disc: 1
1 Le sacre du printemps (The Rite of Spring) (NTSC) 00:36:00 Bernstein, Leonard London Symphony Orchestra
2 Symphony No. 5 in E-Flat Major, Op. 82 (NTSC) 00:34:08 Bernstein, Leonard London Symphony Orchestra
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring - Sibelius: Symphony No. 5, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$58.49 ($64.99)
Charles Munch and the Boston Symphony Orchestra
$58.49 ($64.99)
Legendary Conductors of the Boston Symphony Orchestra
$22.49 ($24.99)
Bach: Concerto for 2 Violins - Mozart: Sinfonia concertante - Brahms: Violin Concerto
$22.49 ($24.99)
Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 2
Debussy: La Mer - Iberia - Ravel: Ma mere l'oye (Munch) ICAD 5014 2/22/2011 $22.49 ($24.99)
Wagner: Orchestra excerpts from Die Meistersinger - Franck: Symphony in D minor ICAD 5015 2/22/2011 $22.49 ($24.99)
Strauss: Ein Heldenleben - Dvorak: Symphony No. 9, "From the New World" ICAD 5009 2/22/2011 $22.49 ($24.99)
Schubert: Piano Trios Nos. 1 and 2 ICAD 5010 2/22/2011 $22.49 ($24.99)
Elgar: Symphony No. 2 - Enigma Variations ICAD 5011 2/22/2011 $22.49 ($24.99)
Beethoven: Symphonies Nos. 4 and 5 - Die Geschöpfe des Prometheus (excerpts) ICAD 5016 2/22/2011 $22.49 ($24.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items