The 18th Century American Overture

Buy + Add To Wish List + $11.69 ($12.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Musical life in late eighteenth-century America was every bit as vibrant as that in Europe, even more so as local composers flourished in the wake of the War of Independence. English-born Benjamin Carr and James Hewitt and Scottish-born Alexander Reinagle contributed entertaining orchestral works to a growing ‘New World’ repertoire, their overtures often comprising medleys of famous classical and popular music. The internationally renowned Sinfonia Finlandia Jyväskylä here presents sparkling performances of these spirited pieces, restoring this forgotten symphonic legacy to its rightful place in our musical heritage.
Item number 8559654
Barcode 636943965429
Release date 3/29/2011
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Gallois, Patrick
Disc: 1
1 Medley Overture in D Minor-major (orchestration re 00:11:58 Gallois, Patrick Jyväskylä Sinfonia
2 Federal Overture (orchestration reconstructed by B 00:10:10 Gallois, Patrick Jyväskylä Sinfonia
3 New Medley Overture in C Major (orchestration reco 00:12:25 Gallois, Patrick Jyväskylä Sinfonia
4 New Federal Overture (orchestration reconstructed 00:11:02 Gallois, Patrick Jyväskylä Sinfonia
5 I. Allegro 00:03:23 Gallois, Patrick Jyväskylä Sinfonia
6 II. Andante - Allegro - Presto 00:05:05 Gallois, Patrick Jyväskylä Sinfonia
7 I. Moderato 00:03:53 Gallois, Patrick Jyväskylä Sinfonia
8 II. Andante - Allegro 00:03:54 Gallois, Patrick Jyväskylä Sinfonia
9 I. Allegro di molto 00:04:01 Gallois, Patrick Jyväskylä Sinfonia
10 II. Allegro 00:02:34 Gallois, Patrick Jyväskylä Sinfonia
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like The 18th Century American Overture, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$11.69 ($12.99)
ADAMS: Shaker Loops / Wound Dresser / Short Ride in a Fast Machine
$11.69 ($12.99)
Gould: American Ballads - Foster Gallery - American Salute
$11.69 ($12.99)
Barber: Orchestral Works, Vol. 1 - Symphonies Nos. 1 & 2
$10.79 ($11.99)
SCARMOLIN: Orchestral Works
WILLSON, M.: Symphonies Nos. 1 and 2 8559006 10/1/1999 $10.79 ($11.99)
LEES: Symphony No. 4, 'Memorial Candles' 8559002 10/1/1999 $11.69 ($12.99)
BENNETT: Abraham Lincoln / Sights and Sounds 8559004 7/1/1999 $11.69 ($12.99)
GROFE: Grand Canyon Suite / Mississippi Suite / Niagara Falls 8559007 5/1/1999 $11.69 ($12.99)
STRONG: Symphony No. 2, 'Sintram' / Chorale 8559018 4/28/1999 $11.69 ($12.99)
SOWERBY: Works for Organ and Orchestra 8559028 1/1/1999 $11.69 ($12.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items