The 5th International Tchaikovsky Competition

Buy + Add To Wish List + $26.99 ($29.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
One of the most prominent pianists of modern times, Andras Schiff nevertheless does not belong to the so-called competition format. The musician who earned the pedestal of philosopher pianist, “a representative of intellectual musical tradition in its high apprehension,” has never had virtuosity, sonic lustre and visual artistry in his sphere of interests. However, the live recordings of the then 21-year-old Hungarian are of unquestionable interest. Soviet music critic Leonid Gakkel described his impressions of Schiff’s performance in the following way. “From his very first note at the competition Schiff struck me with the vigour of his performance, and that was vigour of the highest festivity… What a touch on the piano, what a charge of energy, what burning fingers! Ultimate activity of a creating spirit at each moment of playing…” At the competition, Schiff played piano works by rachmaninoff, Liszt, Prokofiev and Shostakovich, variation cycles and concertos by Tchaikovsky and Brahms. In the opinion of Yevgeny Malinin, a competent judge and professor of the Moscow Conservatory, Schiff “read music without a drop of willfulness: he lived in and with it.” The panel gave him only the fourth prize. However, it wouldn’t be an overstatement to say that it was the Tchaikovsky Competition that brought the first significant success and international repute to the outstanding pianist.
Item number MELCD1002386
Barcode 4600317123865
Release date 11/11/2016
Category Classical Music
Number of units 2
Classical Artist Schiff, András
Disc: 1
Études-tableaux, Op. 3300:10:22
1 Etudes-tableaux, Op. 33: No. 6 in E-Flat Minor: No 00:01:58 Schiff, András
3 Concert Études, S. 14400:06:35
2 3 Etudes de concert, S144/R5: No. 2 in F Minor, "L 00:05:34 Schiff, András
24 Preludes & Fugues, Op. 8700:33:02
3 24 Preludes and Fugues, Op. 87: Prelude and Fugue 00:05:12 Schiff, András
25 Variations & Fugue on a Theme by Handel, Op. 2400:27:00
4 25 Variations and Fugue on a Theme by Handel, Op. 00:28:28 Schiff, András
Scherzo (version for piano)00:06:00
5 Scherzo (version for piano) 00:05:57 Schiff, András
6 Morceaux, Op. 1900:29:00
6 6 Morceaux, Op. 19: No. 6. Theme originale et vari 00:11:11 Schiff, András
Piano Sonata No. 3 in A Minor, Op. 28 (Live)00:07:00
7 Piano Sonata No. 3 in A Minor, Op. 28 00:07:39 Schiff, András
Disc: 2
Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-Flat Minor, Op. 23, TH 500:26:07
1 I. Allegro non troppo e molto maestoso - Allegro c 00:19:26 Schiff, András
2 II. Andantino semplice - Prestissimo 00:06:39 Schiff, András
3 III. Allegro con fuoco 00:07:07 Schiff, András
Piano Concerto No. 1 in D Minor, Op. 1500:48:00
4 I. Maestoso 00:21:20 Schiff, András
5 II. Adagio 00:12:10 Schiff, András
6 III. Rondo: Allegro non troppo 00:11:59 Schiff, András
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like The 5th International Tchaikovsky Competition, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$44.99 ($49.99)
$44.99 ($49.99)
$44.99 ($49.99)
$44.99 ($49.99)
V1: PIANO TRIO MELLP0013 3/25/2014 $44.99 ($49.99)
Maria Yudina, Vol. 1: Mussorgsky MELLP0017 3/25/2014 $44.99 ($49.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
SVIATOSLAV RICHTER VOL.1 MELLP0008 8/13/2013 $44.99 ($49.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
DANIL SHAFRAN VOL.1 MELLP0010 8/13/2013 $44.99 ($49.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Shostakovich: Preludes and Fugues for Piano, Op. 87, Nos. 1-10 MELCD1000073 8/9/2011 $13.49 ($14.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Shostakovich: Preludes and Fugues for Piano MELCD1000074 8/9/2011 $13.49 ($14.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items