The Eloquent Saxophone

Buy + Add To Wish List + $13.49 ($14.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Navona Records is proud to announce the re-release of David Tanner's 1988 album The Eloquent Saxophone. Tanner is no Stranger to Navona; his compositions and arrangements can be heard on two other Navona releases: Of Birds and Lemons (2012) and Dashing (2016). This was his first album, featuring him as a performer. It includes two unaccompanied pieces and two sax quartets recorded by multi-tracking, as well as a rich variety of works with accompaniment admirably rendered by pianist Marc Widner. The music ranges from Schumann to a stylized blues by Gene DiNovi. Tanner's musical language is enriched by classical training and a career encompassing rock'n'roll and jazz as well as symphony. Reviewer Denis Armstrong wrote in Music Magazine, "Not long into this recording, one begins to marvel at the sheer joy David Tanner's playing conveys... a dense and rich recording... at times elegant and elegiac, other times ribald and visceral. But the one constant is the joy and clarity of expression." The first track sets the tone: "Serenade comique" is a brief, frantic sax quartet composition that evokes Parisian traffic or perhaps a flock of birds. "La Blues," the other quartet selection, evokes the melancholy of New York in the depth of night. "It is a treat for the listener to hear this feat of multi-tracking done so well," said reviewer Joseph Viola in Saxophone Journal. Each track is in contrast to the one before it; each represents something different and interesting. To quote Music Magazine again, "The Eloquent Saxophone [is] a thoroughly eccentric, invigorating and generous treat."
Item number NV6158
Barcode 896931004589
Release date 5/11/2018
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Widner, Marc
Classical Composer Tanner, David
Disc: 1
Petit quatuor (arr. for saxophone and piano)00:02:00
1 Petit quatuor: III. Sérénade comique (Arr. for Sax 00:02:24 Widner, Marc Tanner, David
Sonatine sportive, Op. 6300:06:00
2 Sonatine sportive, Op. 63: I. Lutte 00:02:07 Widner, Marc Tanner, David
3 Sonatine sportive, Op. 63: II. Mi temps 00:02:52 Widner, Marc Tanner, David
4 Sonatine sportive, Op. 63: III. Course 00:01:18 Widner, Marc Tanner, David
La Blues00:05:00
5 La Blues 00:05:27 Widner, Marc Tanner, David
Tableaux de Provence (version for saxophone and pi00:15:00
6 Tableaux de Provence: I. Farandoulo di chatouno 00:02:26 Widner, Marc Tanner, David
7 Tableaux de Provence: II. Cansoun per ma mio 00:01:45 Widner, Marc Tanner, David
8 Tableaux de Provence: III. La boumiano 00:01:11 Widner, Marc Tanner, David
9 Tableaux de Provence: IV. Dis Alyscamps l'amo sous 00:04:12 Widner, Marc Tanner, David
10 Tableaux de Provence: V. Lou cabridan 00:03:47 Widner, Marc Tanner, David
Syrinx (arr. for saxophone and piano)00:02:00
11 Syrinx, L. 129 (Arr. for Saxophone) 00:02:22 Tanner, David
3 Romanzen, Op. 94 (arr. for saxophone and piano)00:12:00
12 3 Romanzen, Op. 94: No. 1 in A Minor (Arr. for Sax 00:03:04 Widner, Marc Tanner, David
Caprice en forme de valse00:05:00
13 Caprice en forme de valse 00:05:04 Widner, Marc Tanner, David
15 Etudes, Op. 18800:28:00
14 15 Études, Op. 188: No. 8, Pour les notes en stacc 00:03:43 Widner, Marc Tanner, David
15 Nola 00:02:23 Widner, Marc Tanner, David
Music for Saxophone and Piano00:10:00
16 Music for Saxophone & Piano: I. Fast 00:02:02 Widner, Marc Tanner, David
17 Music for Saxophone & Piano: II. Slow 00:02:25 Widner, Marc Tanner, David
18 Music for Saxophone & Piano: III. Moderato 00:02:46 Widner, Marc Tanner, David
19 Music for Saxophone & Piano: IV. Fast 00:03:14 Widner, Marc Tanner, David
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like The Eloquent Saxophone, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
$15.29 ($16.99)
Marty Regan: Forest Whispers... Selected Works for Japanese Instruments, Vol. 1
$15.29 ($16.99)
Conversations: Keyboard & Chamber Music by John Bilotta & David Gaines
$15.29 ($16.99)
Harmonius Dissonance: String Chamber Works
Mosaic NV5825 3/30/2010 $15.29 ($16.99)
Osias Wilenski: Triptych NV5824 2/23/2010 $15.29 ($16.99)
Waytes: English Music for a Renaissance Band NV5823 1/26/2010 $15.29 ($16.99)
Premonitions American Chamber Works NV5818 9/29/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Beckman, P.: Big Muddy NV5815 7/28/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Evans, M.J.: Flute Trio / Piano Sonatas / Variations / Flying Away / Sunshower / Merci Sophie NV5813 6/30/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items