The Splendour of Venice: Music for Cornetts, Violins & Sackbuts

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
The turn of the 17th century represents not only the golden age of the Venetian Republic, but one of the most variegated moments in the history of Western art music. The innovations of the Venetian School, influential far beyond the confines of its native lagoon, represent the culmination of a stylistic evolution in a period of aesthetic transition from the high Renaissance to the early Baroque. The instrumental music of “La Serenissima” is celebrated not only for the enormous historical, cultural, and artistic inheritance that it represents, but, quite simply, for its sheer beauty. La Pifarescha incorporates a fascinating and diverse selection of instruments. Shawms, sackbuts, cornetts, trumpets, bagpipes, dulcians, flutes, fiddles, lutes, viols, percussion, and many others, join together to alternate the sounds of "alta” with the “bassa cappella", offering a highly variable sonority unique to this group.Thus, La Pifarescha traces the evolution from the alta cappella to the noble consort of cornetts and sackbuts, which appeared on the scene during the renaissance and flourished in the early baroque, often expanding its ranks to include keyboards, strings, and voices.
Item number PC10404
Barcode 7619990104044
Release date 5/17/2019
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like The Splendour of Venice: Music for Cornetts, Violins & Sackbuts, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Triebensee, J.: Partitas / Funeral March / Concertino
$17.09 ($18.99)
Krommer, F.: Partitas - Opp. 57, 69, 76
$17.09 ($18.99)
Couperin, F.: Chamber Music
$17.09 ($18.99)
Mozart, W.A.: Serenades - K. 361, 375, 388
Forqueray, A.: Pieces De Viole PC10190 1/1/2012 $22.49 ($24.99)
Few in stock Buy +
À la chasse - Harmoniemusik from Wallerstein PC10194 1/1/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
Chamber Music (German 17th Century) - BECKER, D. / STRUNGK, N.A. / REINCKEN, J.A. / BUXTEHUDE, D. / FORSTER, K. / THEILE, J. (CordArte Ensemble) PC10200 1/1/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
BRAHMS, J.: Viola Sonatas Nos. 1 and 2 / Trio in A Minor / 2 Gesänge PC10202 1/1/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
Treasures: Chamber Music from the Collection of Earl Rudolf Franz Erwein von Schonborn zu Wiesentheid PC10203 1/1/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
Danzi, F.: Clarinet Sonata in B-Flat Major / Mendelssohn, Felix: Clarinet Sonata in E-Flat Major (The Romantic Clarinet) PC10204 1/1/2012 $17.09 ($18.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items