The Tenth Muse

Buy + Add To Wish List + $15.29 ($16.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
In the ancient love poetry of the Greek lyrist Sappho, trumpet player/composer Matt Holman has found a trove of writings whose emotions and sentiments feel as timely and passionate today as they did when they were written, more than 2,500 years ago. On "the Tenth Music", Holman bridges the ancient with the modern through 16 ethereal compositions inspired by Sappho's writings. Holman's pieces take the fragmentary nature of Sappho's poetry as it has come down to us as a guide for balancing structure and improvisation, clarity and mystery. Holman initially discovered Sappho's poetry through his wife, who introduced him to the Greek poetess during the early days of courtship, the intoxicating period when every aspect of taste and personality is a new discovery. The words that survived from antiquity seemed to reflect his own feelings across a gulf-spanning millennia, while the significant portions that had been lost over time added a sense of entrancing uncertainty. "I sought to evoke the full range of themes in these fragments," Holman says. "Some are passionate and devotional, related to love, and others reflect on the awe-inspiring aspects of nature of the power of dreams. Over the course of two millenia, the human condition has remained fundamentally the same. We are still beholden to our desires, still marvel at a vast sky, still suffer over love both in its anticipation and in its loss. In this day and age, we are inundated with images and reminders of what divides us from each other. Sappho's poetry draws for us the connection between the ancient and the modern, reminding us that even something as simple as a fragment can speak to the depths of our shared humanity."
Item number PAN07
Barcode 637813839666
Release date 4/7/2017
Category Contemporary Jazz
Number of units 1
Non-Classical Artist Holman, Matt
Disc: 1
The Tenth Muse00:59:00
1 Fragment 104b 00:06:47 Holman, Matt
2 Fragment 147 00:07:20 Holman, Matt
3 Fragment 24a, c, d 00:05:10 Holman, Matt
4 Fragment 120 00:02:01 Holman, Matt
5 Fragment 36 00:05:15 Holman, Matt
6 Fragment 29a 00:03:42 Holman, Matt
7 Fragment 67a 00:01:48 Holman, Matt
8 Fragment 168b 00:02:09 Holman, Matt
9 Fragment 4 00:07:56 Holman, Matt
10 Fragment 34 00:01:34 Holman, Matt
11 Fragment 38 00:06:10 Holman, Matt
12 Fragment 32 00:03:13 Holman, Matt
13 Fragment 18 00:01:02 Holman, Matt
14 Fragment 26 00:03:29 Holman, Matt
15 Fragment 63 00:03:39 Holman, Matt
16 Fragment 88a, b 00:05:04 Holman, Matt
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like The Tenth Muse, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
Scintillating Beauty
$15.29 ($16.99)
Off Brand
$15.29 ($16.99)
$15.29 ($16.99)
Sextet PAN09 9/7/2018 $15.29 ($16.99)
Imaginist PAN06 10/14/2016 $15.29 ($16.99)
Gathering Blue PAN03 7/10/2015 $15.29 ($16.99)
Fever Pitch 8572835 5/29/2012 $11.69 ($12.99)
It don't mean a thing 8572834 4/24/2012 $10.79 ($11.99)
BOLLING: Suites for Flute and Jazz Piano Trio 8554848 1/1/2004 $8.99 ($9.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items