The Voice of the Viola in Times of Oppression

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
The viola is surely not the most assertive instrument among the string family. It reaches neither the extreme height of the violin nor the rumbling depth and the strength of the cello and contrabass. Its role is more integrating than leading or polarizing; and in brilliance, maneuverability and sound projection the violin wins hands down. But if a composer wants to express his feelings with maximum intensity and depth, he chooses the viola remarkably often. The loss of a loved one, a repressive political system, persecution and war were more than once the motivation for the composing of music with the viola as the most important voice for expressing the underlying emotions. The dark, somewhat veiled sound of the instrument makes it particularly suited to such a role. The Polish-Russian Jewish composer Mieczyslaw Weinberg fled during the Nazi invasion. Dick Kattenburg was picked up in 1944 during a razzia and he died, only 24 years old, in Auschwitz. Max Vredenburg, being a Jewish artist, fled from the Nazis in 1941 to Indonesia but was there interned in a camp. Shostakovich’s Sonata for viola and piano was his last composition. Notwithstanding that the pressures of the Soviet regime on the composer did not lead to his banishment or even his liquidation, the last stages of Shostakovich’s life were far from uncomplicated. In all of these works, we see the viola utilized as the outlet of their suffering.
Item number ZEF9657
Barcode 8717774570517
Release date 9/28/2018
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Valdimarsdottir, Ásdís
Worms, Marcel
Disc: 1
Clarinet Sonata, Op. 28 (arr. for viola and piano)00:18:00
1 Clarinet Sonata, Op. 28 (Arr. for Viola & Piano): 00:05:44 Worms, Marcel Valdimarsdottir, Ásdís
2 Clarinet Sonata, Op. 28 (Arr. for Viola & Piano): 00:07:06 Worms, Marcel Valdimarsdottir, Ásdís
3 Clarinet Sonata, Op. 28 (Arr. for Viola & Piano): 00:06:55 Worms, Marcel Valdimarsdottir, Ásdís
Viola Sonata00:10:00
4 Viola Sonata: I. Allegro moderato 00:09:31 Worms, Marcel Valdimarsdottir, Ásdís
5 Lamento 00:06:34 Worms, Marcel Valdimarsdottir, Ásdís
Viola Sonata in F Major, Op. 14700:33:00
6 Viola Sonata in F Major, Op. 147: I. Moderato 00:08:41 Worms, Marcel Valdimarsdottir, Ásdís
7 Viola Sonata in F Major, Op. 147: II. Allegretto 00:07:54 Worms, Marcel Valdimarsdottir, Ásdís
8 Viola Sonata in F Major, Op. 147: III. Adagio 00:12:09 Worms, Marcel Valdimarsdottir, Ásdís
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like The Voice of the Viola in Times of Oppression, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
$17.09 ($18.99)
From the Bottom of My Heart
$13.49 ($14.99)
Douwe Eisenga: The Piano Files
$17.09 ($18.99)
The Seasons
Pärt: Complete Works for Violin and Piano & Piano Solo ZEF9641 9/25/2015 $17.09 ($18.99)
Baltic Souls ZEF9636 4/1/2014 $17.09 ($18.99)
Douwe Eisenga: Music for Wiek ZEF9618 9/1/2009 $13.49 ($14.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Cloud Atlas (Live) ZEF9616 9/1/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
Joaquín Nin-Culmell: The Complete Tonadas & Other Works for Piano ZEF9613 4/1/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
Mompou: Música callada, Vols. 1-4 ZEF9609 12/1/2006 $17.09 ($18.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items