Valentine: Un Inglese a Roma

Add To Wish List + $15.29 ($16.99) - Out of stock

The violinist, cellist, flutist and oboist Robert Valentine (Leicester, 1671 - Rome, 1747) was a prolific author of sonatas - especially for recorder - and an instrumentalist engaged in the musical life of Rome, the city where he moved, in a period between 1693 and 1700, from his native England.1 Valentine belonged to a group – not very large but quite important for their excellent performative qualities – of virtuosos of wind instruments (oboe and also flute) who in the first half of the eighteenth century moved to Italy, also to make up for some shortage of instrumentalists in this sector, even if recent researches show, especially in Naples, a great vivacity of local schools even for what concerns wind musicians. At the beginning of the eighteenth century, between Rome, Naples and Florence, we discover the presence of at least four foreign instrumentalists: the oboists / flutists Ignatio Rion (active in Venice, Rome and finally in Naples), Ignazio Sieber (Venice), Ludwig Erdmann (Florence) and finally Robert Valentine. The work of this English-born musician greatly fostered the development of flute music in Italy. His work as a composer and performer places him among the most prolific authors of original music for recorder of the period.
Item number STR37154
Barcode 8011570371546
Release date 1/7/2022
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Valentine: Un Inglese a Roma, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
Heinichen: Unpublished Dresden Sonatas
$15.29 ($16.99)
Piazzolla: Histoire du tango & Tango-Études
$22.49 ($24.99)
Bach: 6 Violin Sonatas, BWV 1014-1019
$9.89 ($10.99)
Torelli: Sinfonia for 3 & Concerti for 4, Op. 5
Handel: Recorder & Flute Sonatas STR11007 1/1/2006 $9.89 ($10.99)
Out of stock
Cabezon: Obras de música para tecla, arpa y vihuela, Vol. 4 STR33452 8/1/2005 $15.29 ($16.99)
Carulli: Duetti e Trii STR33586 11/1/2003 $15.29 ($16.99)
Telemann: Trio Sonatas STR33595 2/1/2003 $15.29 ($16.99)
Out of stock
Castagnoli: Divertimento Ensemble STR33572 6/1/2000 $15.29 ($16.99)
Solbiati: Musica Da Camera STR33542 4/1/1999 $15.29 ($16.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items