Vaughan Williams: Symphonies Nos. 4 & 6

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
This is the newest release from Halle, continuing their series of Vaughan Williams symphonies in live recordings from the Bridgewater Hall. The Sixth Symphony caused a sensation at its premiere in 1948 and was performed 100 times in the following two years. It was composed during a period in which Vaughan Williams was writing film scores, the experience of which had the effect of sparking his imagination in the extravagant use of the orchestra. The work is claimed by many to have an external ‘war’ programme, a fact dismissed by the composer. Either way the result is undoubtedly one of Vaughan Williams’ finest works; a tightly woven musical statement, with stunning melodies and orchestration which is at turns dramatic and expressive. The Fourth Symphony was first performed in 1925 and, echoed the relative dissonance of recent works such as the oratorio Sancta Civitas, the Piano Concerto and the masque for Dancing Job. Structurally it gives a nod to Beethoven’s 5th Symphony and it includes material based on traditional forms as well as elements of self-portraiture, with music displaying the composer’s temper, humour and ribaldry.
Item number CDHLL7547
Barcode 5065001341533
Release date 10/6/2017
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Vaughan Williams: Symphonies Nos. 4 & 6, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Mahler: Symphony No. 9
$17.09 ($18.99)
Elgar, E.: Symphony No. 1 / In the South Overture, "Alassio" / In Moonlight
$17.09 ($18.99)
Elgar, E.: Variations On an Original Theme, "Enigma" / Serenade, Op. 20 / Cockaigne, "In London Town"
$17.09 ($18.99)
Nielsen, C.: Symphony No. 5 / Flute Concerto / Entrance March From Aladdin
Butterworth, G.: Brigg Fair / A Shropshire Lad / 2 English Idylls / The Banks of Green Willow CDHLL7503 9/1/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Shostakovich, D.: Symphonies Nos. 1 and 6 CDHLL7506 9/1/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
Elgar, E.: Introduction and Allegro / Symphony No. 2 CDHLL7507 9/1/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Elgar, E.: Froissart Overture / Dream Children / The Music Makers CDHLL7509 9/1/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
VAUGHAN WILLIAMS, R.: Wasps (The) (Elder) CDHLD7510 9/1/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
Out of stock
Shostakovich, D.: Symphonies Nos. 5 and 10 CDHLD7511 9/1/2008 $17.09 ($18.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items