Vieuxtemps: Works for Violin and Orchestra

Buy + Add To Wish List + $10.79 ($11.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Henry Vieuxtemps was a towering figure in the line of 19th-century violinist-composers, receiving admiration from Wagner, Chopin and Berlioz. A virtuoso in the Paganini tradition, Vieuxtemps was also one of the first to employ a full Romantic orchestral palette in his concertante works and to imbue them with a true ‘symphonic’ conception, as these examples show. They include the Duo brillant, Op. 39 – a dramatic and expressive mini double concerto for violin and cello, the bravura caprice Old England, Op. 42 and the Air varié, Op. 6 with its rich lyricism, four variations and dashing coda. As a soloist, orchestra concertmaster, chamber musician, and educator, violinist Reto Kuppel has been a prominent contemporary figure on the German musical scene. A winner of the International Château de Courcillon Violin Competition, he has performed throughout Europe, Asia and the US. Kuppel studied with Andreas Röhn at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg and Dorothy DeLay at The Juilliard School. He studied chamber music with Ralf Gothoni, Herman Krebbers and Felix Galimir, and is an avid chamber performer, also appearing with string quartets.
Item number 8573993
Barcode 747313399376
Release date 6/12/2020
Category Concertos
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Vieuxtemps: Works for Violin and Orchestra, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$8.99 ($9.99)
$11.69 ($12.99)
HAYDN: Cello Concertos Nos. 1 and 2 / BOCCHERINI: Cello Concerto in B-Flat Major
$8.99 ($9.99)
Beethoven: Piano Concertos Nos. 2 and 5
$11.69 ($12.99)
Grieg / Schumann: Piano Concertos in A Minor
CHOPIN: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 and 2 8550123 7/7/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
Beethoven: Piano Concertos Nos. 3 and 4 8550122 6/30/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
HANDEL: Famous Organ Concertos 8550069 2/5/1988 $11.69 ($12.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
MOZART: Flute Concertos Nos. 1 and 2 / Andante, K. 315 8550074 2/5/1988 $11.69 ($12.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Best of Baroque Music 8550014 2/5/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)
Vivaldi: 4 Seasons (The) / Concerto Alla Rustica 8550056 2/5/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items