Villa-Lobos: Complete String Quartets

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
This exciting set, encompassing all 17 string quartets by the extraordinary Brazilian composer Heitor Villa-Lobos (1887-1959), is a milestone collection of what most scholars have called 'the most important contribution in this field by a Latin American composer'. The beautifully boxed set is also the first time all of the quartets have been made available as an integral release.
Performed by Cuarteto Latinoamericano, recognized world-wide as the preeminent ensemble focusing on Latin American music, the recordings have received universal critical acclaim as well as a GRAMMY nomination for 'Best Chamber Music Performance' and a Latin GRAMMY. It is only fitting that this spectacular boxed set is being released in celebration of the composer's monumental musical achievements on the 50th anniversary of his passing. Villa-Lobos - It has become almost commonplace to say that the musical output of Heitor Villa-Lobos (1887-1959) is as vast, varied, and exuberant as the Amazon rain forest, which was his life-long inspiration. This is a picturesque analogy, but it certainly rings true: in the catalogue of Villa-Lobos, which comprises more than 2,000 works, we find an astonishing variety of forms, genres, and modes of expression that bear witness to the composer's inquisitive and adventuresome spirit. The sheer number of string quartets penned by Villa-Lobos is remarkable in itself: they are seventeen in all, written over a period of forty-two years, and they undoubtedly represent the most important contribution in the genre by a Latin American composer.
Formed in 1982, Cuarteto Latinoamericano is known worldwide as the leading proponent of Latin American music for string quartet. This award-winning ensemble from Mexico consists of the three Bitrán brothers, violinists Saúl and Arón and cellist Alvaro, along with violist Javier Montiel.
Item number DSL-90921
Barcode 053479909213
Release date 11/13/2015
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 6
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Villa-Lobos: Complete String Quartets, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

The Best of the Baltimore Consort
The Road from Erin (Ireland's Musical Legacy)
Angels of Antiquity
Medieval and Renaissance Music (Graysteil - Music From the Middle Ages and Renaissance in Scotland)
Strauss, R.: Piano Quartet, Op. 13 / Widor, C.-M.: Piano Quartet, Op. 66 DOR-90167 3/30/1989 $16.99
Haydn, F.J.: Keyboard Trios Nos. 12, 25, 27, 28 DOR-90164 11/9/1988 $16.99
BRAHMS, J.: Piano Trio No. 1 / DVORAK, A.: Piano Trio No. 4, "Dumky" (The Rembrandt Trio) DOR-90160 1/9/1988 $16.99
Chamber Music (Renaissance) – D'Estree, J. / Johnson, J. / Ravenscroft, T. / Allison, R. / Morley, T. / Byrd, W. / Dowland, J. DOR-90142 10/24/1987 $16.99
Violin Recital: Laredo, Jaime - KREISLER, F. / FAURE, G. / MASSENET, J. / DVORAK, A. / SARASATE, P. (Virtuoso - A Treasury of Favorite Violin Encores) DOR-90153 5/22/1987 $16.99
Mendelssohn, Felix: Piano Trio No. 1 / Schubert, F.: Piano Trio No. 1 DOR-90130 5/14/1986 $16.99
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items