Vines: Hipster Zombies from Mars

Buy + Add To Wish List + $13.49 ($14.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Nicholas Vines presents Hipster Zombies from Mars, his third PARMA Recordings album. This collection of three major piano works by Dr. Vines was recorded on location at Cornell University with artist Ryan MacEvoy McCullough at the piano. For all of the flash one might expect from the album title, Vines bypasses gimmickry in order to capture something sophisticated. Standouts include the four-movement Terraformation for pianoforte, inspired by Kim Stanley Robinson’s science-fiction novel “Red Mars.” Vines depicts the technology’s influence on nature by lifting traditional classical forms and acclimating them to a modernist viewpoint. McCullough captivates the listener with his careful attention to the futuristic timeline into which Vines’ tone clusters have been poetically mapped. Indie Ditties: Twelve Scapes for Piano is a social commentary on the modern hipster movement. The multi-genre piano melodies are thoughtfully constructed, telling a story that is both interesting and musically complex. Concentrating carefully, a keen listener will hear familiar incidental phrases in the most unexpected of places (hint: Movement III, Bad Appletude is not about produce). Vines describes his compositional technique as “ firmly rooted in the technical resources of the Western classical canon, while embracing sounds and ideas from an array of popular, experimental, Australian and non-Western traditions. This combination of rigour and pluralism gives rise to music at once vectored and kaleidoscopic.” Popular media outlets have called the work of Dr. Nicholas Vines “exquisite,” “riveting,” “arresting,” “edgy, bright and entertaining as hell.” Hipster Zombies from Mars does not fail to deliver on these accolades.
Item number NV6173
Barcode 896931004732
Release date 7/13/2018
Category Classical Music
Number of units 2
Classical Artist McCullough, Ryan MacEvoy
Disc: 1
1 Terraformation: I. Soletta. Prelude - Double Canon 00:04:54 McCullough, Ryan MacEvoy
2 Terraformation: II. Windmill. Scherzo 00:05:17 McCullough, Ryan MacEvoy
3 Terraformation: III. Cyanophyte Primares. Passacag 00:06:40 McCullough, Ryan MacEvoy
4 Terraformation: IV. Permafrost Pump. Rondo-Sonata 00:11:02 McCullough, Ryan MacEvoy
Uncanny Valley00:17:00
5 Uncanny Valley 00:17:12 McCullough, Ryan MacEvoy
Disc: 2
Indie Ditties00:40:00
1 Indie Ditties: No. 1, Grease on the Handlebars 00:03:26 McCullough, Ryan MacEvoy
2 Indie Ditties: No. 2, Organic, VG, Fair Trade 00:03:59 McCullough, Ryan MacEvoy
3 Indie Ditties: No. 3, Bad Appletude 00:04:16 McCullough, Ryan MacEvoy
4 Indie Ditties: No. 4, 20/20 Frames 00:03:36 McCullough, Ryan MacEvoy
5 Indie Ditties: No. 5, HRH Prince Albert 00:04:34 McCullough, Ryan MacEvoy
6 Indie Ditties: No. 6, ...My Love Is like a Dead, D 00:05:08 McCullough, Ryan MacEvoy
7 Indie Ditties: No. 7, Crucifixie 00:04:00 McCullough, Ryan MacEvoy
8 Indie Ditties: No. 8, Skinny, Skinny Jeans 00:04:14 McCullough, Ryan MacEvoy
9 Indie Ditties: No. 9, ...For the Freaks Shall Inhe 00:04:28 McCullough, Ryan MacEvoy
10 Indie Ditties: No. 10, Bob Springmones Holed My Pi 00:03:35 McCullough, Ryan MacEvoy
11 Indie Ditties: No. 11, Microbrew IV 00:04:50 McCullough, Ryan MacEvoy
12 Indie Ditties: No. 12, Too Much Ink 00:04:13 McCullough, Ryan MacEvoy
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Vines: Hipster Zombies from Mars, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$15.29 ($16.99)
Hans Bakker: The Unnamed Source
$15.29 ($16.99)
Petty, Homans & Stewart: Tendrils
$15.29 ($16.99)
Curt Cacioppo: Italia
$15.29 ($16.99)
Carollo: Transcendence in the Age of War, Saggese Guitar Suite, String Quintet No. 1, Fear of Angst & Desiderio
Sandred, O.: Cracks and Corrosion Nos. 1 and 2 / Amanzule Voices / The Third Perspective / Whirl of Leaves NV5814 6/30/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Martino, D.: Fantasies and Impromptus / Piano Trio / Serenata Concertante / Peyton, M.: Elegy / Homans, P.: Quintino NV5811 5/26/2009 $22.49 ($24.99)
Copland, A.: Clarinet Concerto / Mckinley, W.T.: Clarinet Duets / Concerto for 2 Clarinets NV5812 5/26/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Sacks, J.: 5Th (S)Eason / Litanies / Sagittarius Rising / Sirian Blue / Ghost Horses NV5802 4/28/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Navarette, N.: Polaris / Jenkins, K.: Palladio / Yazigi, M.: Roads / Anneken, U.: The Woods / Courduvelis, J.: Like It Is NV5808 4/28/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Spratlan, L.: In Memoriam / Streaming NV5810 4/28/2009 $15.29 ($16.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items