Viola Sonatas by Schubert, Hindemith & Glinka

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
This new release features three fundamental works in the repertoire for viola and piano: the Arpeggione Sonata by Franz Schubert, the Viola Sonata Op.11 Nº4 by the violist and composer Paul Hindemith, and the Viola Sonata by Mikhail Glinka. Randolph Kelly has enjoyed a distinguished and multifaceted career as a soloist, chamber musician, and principal orchestral player. Mr. Kelly has appeared on some of the most prestigious concert stages in the world, including performing the New York premiere of Sir Michael Tippet’s Triple Concerto in Carnegie Hall, conducted by André Previn. Mr. Kelly is widely known for his tenure as Principal Violist of the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, a position he held for 42 years. He was first engaged by André Previn in 1976, and has since played under the direction of Lorin Maazel, Mariss Jansons, and Manfred Honeck. In a personal letter to him, Previn once expressed that Mr. Kelly “transformed [his] section into what I believe is the best viola section of any orchestra in America.” John Novacek is a much sought-after collaborative artist and has performed with Joshua Bell, Matt Haimovitz, Leila Josefowicz, Cho-Liang Lin, Yo-Yo Ma, Truls Mork, Elmar Oliveira and Emmanuel Pahud, and, as well as the Colorado, Harrington, Jupiter, New Hollywood, St. Lawrence, SuperNova and Ying string quartets. John Novacek took top prizes at both the Leschetizky and Joanna Hodges international piano competitions, among many others.
Item number IBS-122020
Barcode 8436589069305
Release date 9/18/2020
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Viola Sonatas by Schubert, Hindemith & Glinka, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

Manén, Gerhard & Montsalvatge: Sonata di concerto
Bartók: Contrasts, BB 116
Jazz Impact: Hommage to Bernstein
D. Scarlatti: Venezia 1742
Mozart: Violin Sonatas Nos. 26, 32 & 35 IBS-262018 3/15/2019 $15.99
Spanish Piano Trios IBS122018 8/17/2018 $15.99
Bach: Goldberg Variations (Arr. F. Meïmoun for String Quartet) IBS112018 7/6/2018 $15.99
Deep Light: Clarinet Masterpieces IBS42018 6/1/2018 $15.99
Clarinet Sonatas 20th Century IBS62018 6/1/2018 $15.99
Brahms: Complete Clarinet Sonatas & Trio IBS82018 6/1/2018 $15.99
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items