Wagner: Concert Overtures

Buy + Add To Wish List + $11.69 ($12.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Before his emergence as one of the greatest musical figures of the 19th century, Richard Wagner wrote a series of overtures that chart his early compositional development. The two high-octane Concert Overtures reflect his Beethovenian and Classical lineage, whereas the overture to the historical tragedy Konig Enzio reveals a greater sense of melancholy and nobility. Heroism is the key to his first opera, Die Feen, while his second, Das Liebesverbot, is saturated in beguiling Mediterranean color. Siegfried Idyll, a surprise birthday gift for his second wife, Cosima, is a tender and intimate celebration of scenes of family life. The MDR Leipzip Radio Symphony Orchestra is Germany’s oldest radio orchestra. In addition to its regular presence on the radio, television, and internet, it delights a wide public with its concerts in the area served by MDR and beyond. On a worldwide scale, the orchestra can be heard via the European Broadcasting Union, on tour, and at guest performances.
Item number 8573414
Barcode 747313341474
Release date 9/8/2017
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Conductor Märkl, Jun
Orchestra MDR Sinfonieorchester
Disc: 1
Die Feen, Act I: Overture00:12:00
1 Die Feen, WWV 32: Overture 00:11:18 Märkl, Jun MDR Sinfonieorchester
Das Liebesverbot, Act I: Overture00:08:00
2 Das Liebesverbot, WWV 38: Overture 00:08:39 Märkl, Jun MDR Sinfonieorchester
Columbus: Overture00:08:00
3 Christopher Columbus, WWV 37 00:07:26 Märkl, Jun MDR Sinfonieorchester
König Enzio: Overture00:11:00
4 Incidental Music to König Enzio, WWV 24 00:08:15 Märkl, Jun MDR Sinfonieorchester
Concert Overture No. 2 in C Major00:10:00
5 Concert Overture No. 2 in C Major, WWV 27 00:09:10 Märkl, Jun MDR Sinfonieorchester
Concert Overture No. 1 in D Minor00:05:00
6 Concert Overture No. 1 in D Minor, WWV 20 00:07:25 Märkl, Jun MDR Sinfonieorchester
Siegfried Idyll, WWV. 10300:17:49
7 Siegfried Idyll, WWV 103 00:19:39 Märkl, Jun MDR Sinfonieorchester
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Wagner: Concert Overtures, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$11.69 ($12.99)
Wagner: Symphony in C Major
$11.69 ($12.99)
D'Albert: Aschenputtel (Cinderella) Suite
$11.69 ($12.99)
D'Albert: Symphony in F major
$11.69 ($12.99)
Debussy: Préludes, Books 1 & 2 (Orch. P. Breiner)
Debussy: Orchestral Works, Vol. 6 8572583 5/31/2011 $11.69 ($12.99)
Debussy: Orchestral Works, Vol. 5 8572568 2/22/2011 $11.69 ($12.99)
Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 2, "Lobgesang" 8572294 12/14/2010 $8.99 ($9.99)
Debussy: Orchestral Works, Vol. 4 8572297 9/28/2010 $11.69 ($12.99)
Debussy: Orchestral Works, Vol. 3 8572296 3/30/2010 $11.69 ($12.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Debussy: Orchestral Works, Vol. 1 8570759 5/27/2008 $11.69 ($12.99)

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items