Wagner: Tristan und Isolde (arr. for 2 pianos)

Buy + Add To Wish List + $13.49 ($14.99) - Few in stock

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Hardly any other work by a great composer has received as many arrangements as Richard Wagner‘s musical dramas. It was only a few years ago that Cord Garben found the “50 Symphonic Movements from Richard Wagner‘s Musical Dramas” in an antiquarian book-shop. They were created by the Hamburg lawyer, composer and patron Hermann Behn (1859-1927) in the years 1914-1917.In his arrangement of Gustav Mahler‘s 2nd Symphony for two pianos four hands (Musicaphon M56915), Behn used the “usual“ procedure - this means nothing more than the distribution of the relevant substance of the orchestral score that is easy for both pianists to play – but he went completely different ways with the Wagnerian dramas. In 1914 he already achieved his typical symphonic sound on the pianos while editing the first fragments of the “Ring des Nibelungen”. For this he cleverly used the doubling of chord progressions and downright ludicrously wide fingerings of the left hand, which can only be played at all in a „broken“ style, i.e. by quickly tearing the notes from bottom to top. This inevitably leads to deliberate inaccuracies in the correspondence which – with sufficient use of the pedals – lead to a previously unheard richness of sound. Christiane Behn and Cord Garben play Behn‘s arrangements (excerpts) on two Steinways from 1912, which once belonged to Hermann Behn‘s cousin Rafael Behn and are now owned by Christiane Behn. Behn once played his own arrangements on these instruments (together with his friend Gustav Mahler and Rafael Behn, among others).
Item number M56986
Barcode 4012476569864
Release date 1/1/2021
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Wagner: Tristan und Isolde (arr. for 2 pianos), please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$13.49 ($14.99)
J. Dowland: Blisseful Kisses
$8.99 ($9.99)
$8.99 ($9.99)
Harpsichord Recital: Willi, Barbara Maria - BACH, J.S. / COUPERIN, F. / PICCHI, G. / LIGETI, G. / RAMEAU, J.-P. / ANDRIESSEN, L.
$8.99 ($9.99)
Brahms, J.: Variations - Opp. 23, 56B / 16 Waltzes, Op. 39
Bach, J.S.: Lute Music - Bwv 995, 996, 999, 1000, 1006A, 1007 M51538 2/1/2000 $8.99 ($9.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Leyendecker, U.: Works for Piano M55709 1/24/2000 $13.49 ($14.99)
Royal Winter Music M55711 12/24/1999 $13.49 ($14.99)
Few in stock Buy +
FROMMEL, G.: Lieder der Stille / Violin Sonata No. 2 / Piano Sonatas Nos. 3 and 4 M55708 11/5/1998 $13.49 ($14.99)
Flutes Without Borders M55710 8/21/1998 $13.49 ($14.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Mozart, W.A.: Variations for Piano (Complete) M51017 1/1/1996 $8.99 ($9.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items