Weigl: Isle of the Dead

Buy + Add To Wish List + $8.99 ($9.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Karl Weigl was part of the rich cultural life of Vienna at the turn of the last century. One of his earliest works, Isle of the Dead was inspired by Böcklin’s famous symbolic painting and here receives its first known performance. Nachtphantasien (Night Fantasies) relates to the two Nachtmusik movements of Mahler’s Symphony No. 7. Folklike but deceptively demanding, the Pictures and Tales were popular in their day, while Dance of the Furies was overlooked by the composer and not publicly performed until 1970. Weigl’s career was cut short by Hitler’s rise to power. Written in exile in the United States, the reflective Six Fantasies was his last piano cycle. Grammy® nominated American pianist Joseph Banowetz has been heard as recitalist and orchestral soloist on five continents. His over thirty recordings contain a significant number of world-première discs, including first recordings of Anton Rubinstein solo piano works, all eight of Rubinstein’s piano and orchestra works, and compositions of Mily Balakirev, Leopold Godowsky and Paul Kletzki.
Item number 8572423
Barcode 747313242375
Release date 6/26/2012
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Banowetz, Joseph
Disc: 1
1 No. 1. Spring Evening 00:02:23 Banowetz, Joseph
2 No. 2. Burlesque 00:05:43 Banowetz, Joseph
3 No. 3. Remembrance 00:03:25 Banowetz, Joseph
4 No. 4. Capriccio 00:06:53 Banowetz, Joseph
5 No. 5. Longing 00:03:34 Banowetz, Joseph
6 No. 6. Halloween 00:03:28 Banowetz, Joseph
7 Toteninsel (Isle of the Dead) 00:13:12 Banowetz, Joseph
8 I. Es war einmal (Once upon a time) 00:02:34 Banowetz, Joseph
9 II. Schneewittchen (Snow-white) 00:01:56 Banowetz, Joseph
10 III. Storch, Storch, Steiner (Stork, lanky long-le 00:01:05 Banowetz, Joseph
11 IV. Schlaf, Kindlein, schlaf (Sleep, child, sleep) 00:03:23 Banowetz, Joseph
12 V. Dorn roschens Grab (Sleeping beauty's grave) 00:01:33 Banowetz, Joseph
13 VI. Im Mondschein (By moonlight) 00:02:31 Banowetz, Joseph
14 Tanz der Erinnyen (Dance of the Furies) 00:05:21 Banowetz, Joseph
15 I. Langsam 00:05:19 Banowetz, Joseph
16 II. Heftig 00:02:35 Banowetz, Joseph
17 III. Langsam, innig 00:04:56 Banowetz, Joseph
18 IV. Unruhig, drangend 00:02:37 Banowetz, Joseph
19 V. Zart bewegt 00:06:08 Banowetz, Joseph
20 28 Variationen uber ein achttaktiges Thema, Op. 15 00:08:55 Banowetz, Joseph
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Weigl: Isle of the Dead, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$8.99 ($9.99)
Rubinstein: Piano Music (1852-1894)
$8.99 ($9.99)
Rubinstein: Piano Music (1871-1890)
$10.79 ($11.99)
Kletzki: Piano Concerto
$35.09 ($38.99)
DOWLAND, J.: Lute Music (Complete) (North)
DVORAK: Complete Solo Piano Music 8505205 6/1/2004 $44.99 ($49.99)
CLASSICAL HEAT 8520102 5/1/2002 $17.99 ($19.99)
RUBINSTEIN: Album de Peterhof, Op. 75 8223176 5/16/1991 $16.99
RUBINSTEIN: Soirees Musicales, Op. 109 8223177 5/16/1991 $8.99 ($9.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Balakirev: Scherzi and Mazurkas (Complete) 8220447 4/30/1991 $8.99 ($9.99)
This item has been discontinued, and will no longer be available once out of stock.
Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition / Balakirev: Islamey 8550044 3/21/1991 $8.99 ($9.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items