Weinberg: Symphony No. 19 - The Banners of Peace

Buy + Add To Wish List + $11.69 ($12.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Mieczyslaw Weinberg’s 26 symphonies are seen today as a substantial continuation ofthe Russian tradition. Symphony No. 19 marks ‘Bright May’ as the month in which theGreat Patriotic War came to an end, but expressed with ominous apprehension as wellas celebration. The Banners of Peace subsumes traditional and revolutionary songsto create an extrovert work which avoids the bombast of propaganda. Gramophonehas acclaimed the ‘understanding and fervour’ of Vladimir Lande’s ‘greatly superior’conducting of Weinberg’s Symphony No. 6 (8572779).The St Petersburg State Symphony Orchestra was established in1967 and until 1985 was known as the Orchestra of Ancient and ModernMusic. Renowned soloists and conductors, including Yuri Temirkanov,Mariss Jansons, Svyatoslav Richter, and many others, have performedwith the orchestra. In 2008, the American Vladimir Lande becamethe orchestra’s principal guest conductor. He conducted the openingconcert of St Petersburg’s White Nights Festival in summer 2004.Since then, he has led notable orchestras in the United States, conducted the NationalGallery Chamber Orchestra on an American tour, and served as conductor of the 64thAmerican Music Festival.
Item number 8572752
Barcode 747313275274
Release date 11/13/2012
Category Orchestral
Number of units 1
Conductor Lande, Vladimir
Orchestra St. Petersburg State Symphony Orchestra
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Weinberg: Symphony No. 19 - The Banners of Peace, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$11.69 ($12.99)
Weinberg: Symphony No. 13 & Serenade
$11.69 ($12.99)
Tishchenko: Symphony No. 8, Op. 149
$11.69 ($12.99)
Weinberg: Symphony No. 17, Op. 137 "Memory" & Suite for Orchestra
$11.69 ($12.99)
Mary Ann Joyce-Walter: Immortal Diamond
Weinberg: Symphony No. 18 - Trumpet Concerto 8573190 5/27/2014 $11.69 ($12.99)
Grieg: Complete Orchestral Works 8508015 5/27/2014 $53.99 ($59.99)
Weinberg: Symphony No. 12 - The Golden Key Suite No. 4 8573085 1/28/2014 $11.69 ($12.99)
Weinberg: Symphony No. 6 - Rhapsody on Moldavian Themes 8572779 4/24/2012 $11.69 ($12.99)
CLASSICAL CHILL 8520101 5/1/2002 $17.99 ($19.99)
MOZART: Kleine Nachtmusik (Eine) / Serenata Notturna / Divertimento No. 10 8550026 2/5/1988 $8.99 ($9.99)

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items