What Artemisia Heard: Music and Art from the Time of Caravaggio & Gentileschi

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
What Artemisia Heard: Music and Art from the Time of Caravaggio and Gentileschi is the culmination of a unique project envisioned by El Mundo artistic director Richard Savino. Enraptured over the work of female Baroque painter Artemisia Gentileschi, Savino began to question why the music of Artemisia’s time is not as widely appreciated as the visual arts of the era. Recognizing a ubiquitous connection in popular music between the aural and visual, Savino had the ingenious idea to integrate the sublime painting of Artemisia and her contemporaries directly with the equally sublime music these painters would have heard at the time. Featured alongside paintings by Artemisia and her contemporaries is music by composers Uccellini, Kapsberger, Frescobaldi, Caccini, Piccinini, Monteverdi, Falconieri and Rossi, among others, as performed by El Mundo and distinguished soloists. El Mundo is dedicated to the performance of 16th – 19th c. Latin American, Spanish and Italian chamber music. Under the direction of guitarist/lutenist Richard Savino, El Mundo was formed in 1999 and is made up of some of today’s finest period instrument performers. As an ensemble, El Mundo has to date recorded 8 CDs, issued on the Koch, Dorian and Sono Luminus labels, including The Kingdoms of Castille, which received a 2012 GRAMMY® nomination in the Best Small Ensemble category.
Item number DSL-92195
Barcode 053479219527
Release date 9/25/2015
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Classical Artist Savino, Richard
Ensemble Mundo, El
Disc: 1
Sinfonie boscareccie, Op. 800:05:10
1 Sinfonie boscareccie, Op. 8: No. 34, La gran batta 00:03:37 Mundo, El Savino, Richard
Libro II di villanelle00:00:00
2 Libro secondo di villanelle: No. 3, L'onda che lim 00:05:44 Mundo, El Savino, Richard
Libro I d'intavolatura di chitarone00:00:00
3 Libro primo d'intavolatura di chitarrone: Corrente 00:01:12 Savino, Richard Mundo, El
Libro IV d'intavolatura di chitarrone *00:08:00
4 Libro quarto d'intavolatura di chitarrone: Capona 00:02:29 Savino, Richard Mundo, El
Musiche e poesie varie, Book 300:13:58
5 Musiche e poesie varie, Book 3: Amanti io vi so di 00:04:20 Savino, Richard Mundo, El
6 Toccate e partite d'intavolatura, Book 2: Canzona 00:02:40 Savino, Richard Mundo, El
Musiche sacre, e morali00:00:00
7 Musiche sacre e morali: Folle cor ah non t'alletti 00:03:28 Savino, Richard Mundo, El
8 La Dafne: Sinfonia 00:02:21 Savino, Richard Mundo, El
Il primo libro delle musiche00:00:00
9 Il primo libro delle musiche: Lasciatemi qui solo 00:05:26 Savino, Richard Mundo, El
10 Intavolatura di liuto et di chitarrone: Toccata IV 00:01:35 Savino, Richard Mundo, El
Il primo libro delle musiche00:00:00
11 Il primo libro delle musiche: Chi desia di saper 00:01:59 Savino, Richard Mundo, El
Sonate concertate in stil moderno, Book 200:00:00
12 Sonate concertate in stil moderno, Book 2: Sonata 00:04:32 Savino, Richard Mundo, El
Zefiro torna, SV 25100:01:00
13 Scherzi musicali cioè arie et madrigali: No. 5, Et 00:07:22 Savino, Richard Mundo, El
Madrigali e canzonette, Book 9, SV 168-17800:03:00
14 Madrigals, Book 9: Come dolce oggi l'auretta, SV 1 00:03:20 Savino, Richard Mundo, El
Varii capricii00:04:00
15 Varii capricii: Sinfonia à 2 00:03:40 Savino, Richard Mundo, El
Il primo libro di canzone, sinfonie, fantasie00:20:00
16 Il primo libro di canzone: Sinfonia detta la Buonh 00:02:14 Savino, Richard Mundo, El
Occhi belli00:03:00
17 Occhi belli 00:03:01 Savino, Richard Mundo, El
Il primo libro di canzone, sinfonie, fantasie, cap00:05:00
18 Il primo libro di canzone: Folías echa para mi Señ 00:04:34 Savino, Richard Mundo, El
Festa Riso00:02:00
19 Festa Riso 00:01:49 Savino, Richard Mundo, El
Symphonia in G Major00:01:00
20 Symphonia in G Major 00:01:32 Savino, Richard Mundo, El
No more shall meads00:04:00
21 No More Shall Meads Be Deck'd with Flow'rs 00:03:35 Savino, Richard Mundo, El
Though I am young00:02:00
22 Though I Am Young 00:01:58 Savino, Richard Mundo, El
Fan battaglia00:03:00
23 Fan battaglia 00:03:17 Savino, Richard Mundo, El
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like What Artemisia Heard: Music and Art from the Time of Caravaggio & Gentileschi, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

The Best of the Baltimore Consort
The Road from Erin (Ireland's Musical Legacy)
Angels of Antiquity
Medieval and Renaissance Music (Graysteil - Music From the Middle Ages and Renaissance in Scotland)
Strauss, R.: Piano Quartet, Op. 13 / Widor, C.-M.: Piano Quartet, Op. 66 DOR-90167 3/30/1989 $16.99
Haydn, F.J.: Keyboard Trios Nos. 12, 25, 27, 28 DOR-90164 11/9/1988 $16.99
BRAHMS, J.: Piano Trio No. 1 / DVORAK, A.: Piano Trio No. 4, "Dumky" (The Rembrandt Trio) DOR-90160 1/9/1988 $16.99
Chamber Music (Renaissance) – D'Estree, J. / Johnson, J. / Ravenscroft, T. / Allison, R. / Morley, T. / Byrd, W. / Dowland, J. DOR-90142 10/24/1987 $16.99
Violin Recital: Laredo, Jaime - KREISLER, F. / FAURE, G. / MASSENET, J. / DVORAK, A. / SARASATE, P. (Virtuoso - A Treasury of Favorite Violin Encores) DOR-90153 5/22/1987 $16.99
Mendelssohn, Felix: Piano Trio No. 1 / Schubert, F.: Piano Trio No. 1 DOR-90130 5/14/1986 $16.99

Also Ordered

Customers also bought:
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items