Whittall: Northlands

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Canadian-Finnish composer Matthew Whittall (b. 1975) began his studies in Montreal. He earned degrees in performance and composition from Vanier College, the University of Massachusetts, Amherst and Stony Brook University, before settling in Finland in 2001. There he studied at the Sibelius Academy, receiving his Doctor of Music degree with honors in 2013. Whittall’s prolific output covers a wide variety of genres, particularly orchestra, voice, chorus, chamber and solo instrumental works, with occasional forays into electronics. His works have been commissioned and performed by the Helsinki Philharmonic, the Finnish Radio Symphony, the Helsinki Chamber Choir the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and Canada’s National Arts Centre Orchestra, among others, and have featured in festivals and radio broadcasts across Europe, North America and Japan. This release, which was named Record of the Year by Finnish broadcasting company YLE, features works by Whittall that seem to long for a world that doesn’t exist. They depict nature as a realm of romanticized and mystified beauty. The featured soloist across these works is hornist Tommi Hyytinen.
Item number ABCD 416
Barcode 6417513104165
Release date 5/4/2018
Category Classical Music
Number of units 1
Choir Helsinki Chamber Choir
Classical Artist Hyytinen, Tommi
Conductor Schweckendiek, Nils
Disc: 1
1 Northlands: I. — 00:12:09 Hyytinen, Tommi Schweckendiek, Nils Helsinki Chamber Choir Tapiola Sinfonietta Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra
2 Northlands: II. — 00:14:53 Hyytinen, Tommi Schweckendiek, Nils Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra Angervo, Ilari
ad puram annihiliationem meam00:20:00
3 Ad puram annihiliationem meam 00:19:24 Helsinki Chamber Choir Schweckendiek, Nils Heéger, Júlia Hyytinen, Tommi
The Return of Light00:25:00
4 The Return of Light 00:24:35 Tapiola Sinfonietta Helsinki Chamber Choir Schweckendiek, Nils Hyytinen, Tommi
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Whittall: Northlands, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.99 ($19.99)
Riemuitkaamme!: A Finnish Christmas
$17.09 ($18.99)
ROYER / RAMEAU: Harpsichord Music
$17.09 ($18.99)
Satie: Piano Music
$17.09 ($18.99)
RITTER: Complete Organ Sonatas
BACH: Organ Works ABCD 117 1/1/1997 $17.09 ($18.99)
Aho: Black Birds ABCD 104 1/1/1995 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 21 in B-Flat Major, D. 960 & 3 Klavierstucke (Impromptus), D. 946 ABCD 109 1/1/1995 $17.09 ($18.99)
Merilainen: Piano Sonatas Nos. 2, 4, 5 & Papillons ABCD 106 1/1/1994 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
BACH, J.S.: Goldberg Variations, BWV 988 ABCD 103 1/1/1993 $17.09 ($18.99)
Out of stock
Bach: 6 Partitas, BWV 825-830 ABCD 101 1/1/1992 $31.49 ($34.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items