Ying Wang: Tun·Tu

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
Shaped equally by her roots in China as well as European influences, Ying Wang, with her struggle for an individual musical language, embodies in an exemplary way the challenges of finding a point of balance between two cultures. Ying Wang mediates between the two cultures. She has achieved quite personal solutions in her works, integrating dramatic impulses and meditative sensual sonorities. She regards as especially fruitful the transferring of techniques for the creation of electronic sounds to acoustical instruments. Restriction and freedom are important criteria in "Wave in D", where Wang, out of extremely limited tonal material, draws a rich assemblage of differentiated sound colors from the possibilities of the traditional instrument and the electronics. In "Tun Tu" baritone saxophone and electronic sounds interact and come together in an imaginary sound landscape. The distorted sounds of the instrument, embedded in a cosmos of mysterious electronic colorations, seem at first almost improvisatory, but "Tun Tu" is rigorously organized. In "Coffee & Tea" Ying Wang reflects on contrasts between the cultures of Asia and Europe and uses coffee and tea as metaphors.
Item number WER73472
Barcode 4010228734720
Release date 3/17/2017
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Ying Wang: Tun·Tu, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Vasks: String Quartets Nos. 2 and 5
$17.09 ($18.99)
Theodorakis: East of the Aegean
$14.39 ($15.99)
WOOD, J.: Stoicheia
$17.09 ($18.99)
HINDEMITH: Works for Cello and Piano, Vol. 2 - Cello Sonata / 3 Leichte Stucke / Kleine Sonata / A frog he went a-courting
Hindemith: Works for Cello and Piano, Vol. 1 - Cello Sonata / 3 Stucke WER60144-50 1/1/1989 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
LINDE, H.: Music for Two / STOCKHAUSEN: 12 Melodien der Sternzeichen (excerpts) / ZEHM: Serenade / BRINDLE: Hathor at Philae WER60142-50 10/1/1988 $14.39 ($15.99)
PANNKE: Music for Unborn Children SM1074-50 6/1/1988 $14.39 ($15.99)
LIGETI: String Quartets Nos. 1, 2 (Arditti Quartet) WER60079-50 5/1/1988 $17.09 ($18.99)
JULLICH, M.: Four Directions (The) SM1070-50 12/1/1987 $14.39 ($15.99)
BROUWER, L.: Variantes / HENZE, H.: 5 Scenes from the Snow Country / HILLER, W.: Katalog IV (Percussion Today) WER60123-50 8/1/1986 $14.39 ($15.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items