Zapf: String Quartets|Sonar Quartett

Buy + Add To Wish List + $17.09 ($18.99)

Shipping time: In stock | Free shipping within the US
String quartets have for a long time been received as a conversation between four rational people. For 20th and 21st century composers wanting to leave this idea of a discussion behind, the question has been: in what other ways can one write for two violins, viola, and violoncello? Helmut Zapf’s three string quartets perfectly illustrate the stages of such a confrontation. They have appeared throughout his entire career as a composer, and can be understood as markers for different periods in his compositional output. In Zapfs first string quartet elements of an individual musical rhetoric survive and are clearly understandable as such. However, the context – the “rational conversation” – is now present in only a rudimentary fashion. The second string quartet is a logical continuation of the path already established by Zapf: the last remnants of rhetoric and conversational discourse are dispensed with. The four instruments do not act individually, but are treated as a single organism. The third string quartet has been written for the Sonar group. This composition takes up the experiences of the previous pieces and at the same time tries to connect with the tradition: a reconnection from a great and skeptical distance.
Item number WER73482
Barcode 4010228734829
Release date 7/28/2017
Category Chamber Music
Number of units 1
Write your own review
You must log in to be able to write a review
If you like Zapf: String Quartets|Sonar Quartett, please tell your friends! You can easily share this page directly on Facebook, Twitter and via e-mail below.

You may also like.....

$17.09 ($18.99)
Vasks: String Quartets Nos. 2 and 5
$17.09 ($18.99)
Theodorakis: East of the Aegean
$14.39 ($15.99)
WOOD, J.: Stoicheia
$17.09 ($18.99)
HINDEMITH: Works for Cello and Piano, Vol. 2 - Cello Sonata / 3 Leichte Stucke / Kleine Sonata / A frog he went a-courting
Hindemith: Works for Cello and Piano, Vol. 1 - Cello Sonata / 3 Stucke WER60144-50 1/1/1989 $17.09 ($18.99)
Few in stock Buy +
LINDE, H.: Music for Two / STOCKHAUSEN: 12 Melodien der Sternzeichen (excerpts) / ZEHM: Serenade / BRINDLE: Hathor at Philae WER60142-50 10/1/1988 $14.39 ($15.99)
PANNKE: Music for Unborn Children SM1074-50 6/1/1988 $14.39 ($15.99)
LIGETI: String Quartets Nos. 1, 2 (Arditti Quartet) WER60079-50 5/1/1988 $17.09 ($18.99)
JULLICH, M.: Four Directions (The) SM1070-50 12/1/1987 $14.39 ($15.99)
BROUWER, L.: Variantes / HENZE, H.: 5 Scenes from the Snow Country / HILLER, W.: Katalog IV (Percussion Today) WER60123-50 8/1/1986 $14.39 ($15.99)
Image Image
My account
My cart: 0 items